Pages Navigation Menu

Things to do in Orange County for OC Moms

Categories Navigation Menu

Pittsburgh Steelers Team History

The Pittsburgh Steelers are one of the most historic franchises in the entire NFL. Pittsburgh has won six Super Bowl titles in franchise history, and their last win was during the 2008 regular season and 2009 postseason in Super Bowl XLIII against the Arizona Cardinals.

The Pittsburgh Steelers don’t have very high NFL odds to win Super Bowl LVII this season. What are some of the things about Pittsburgh’s team history in the NFL?

Franchise History

The Rooney Family currently owns Pittsburgh. This franchise came into existence on July 8th, 1933. This franchise started as the Pittsburgh Pirates until the year of 1940. One of the things about this franchise is that they have been stable with everything they have done. The Pittsburgh Steelers have only had three head coaches in franchise history.

They are Chuck Noll (1969-1991), Bill Cowher (1992-2006), and Mike Tomlin (2007-present). Those coaches have won at least one Super Bowl with Pittsburgh and have had many historic players throughout the organization. 

Super Bowls

The first Super Bowl they won in franchise history was against the Minnesota Vikings in 1975 in Super Bowl IX. The final score in that football game was 16-6. Chuck Noll was the head coach for the first four Super Bowl titles in franchise history. 

The following season, they won Super Bowl X against the Dallas Cowboys by a final score of 21-17. A few seasons later, in Super Bowl XIII, they defeated the Dallas Cowboys by a final score of 35-31. That was one of the most classic Super Bowls, depending on who you ask. Wide receiver Lynn Swann was one of the main stories in those Super Bowls with his miraculous catches. It is one of the greatest moments in NFL history.

In 1979, the year after the Pittsburgh Steelers won its third Super Bowl in franchise history, they defeated the Los Angeles Rams by a final score of 31-19. The quarterback for all of these Super Bowl titles was Terry Bradshaw. 

In 2005 in Super Bowl XL, the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Seattle Seahawks by a final score of 21-10. They were the sixth seed in the AFC that season. Their path to the Super Bowl that season was the Cincinnati Bengals, the Indianapolis Colts, and the Denver Broncos. Bill Cowher was the head coach of Pittsburgh’s Super Bowl team.

A few seasons later, in Super Bowl XLIII in 2008, the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Arizona Cardinals by a final score of 27-23. This was one of the greatest Super Bowls of all time. James Harrison had a 100-yard pick-six on Kurt Warner before halftime. 

Ben Roethlisberger also threw the game-winning touchdown pass to Santonio Holmes in the corner of the end zone. They had to overcome the heroics of Kurt Warner and Larry Fitzgerald. Mike Tomlin was the head coach of the Pittsburgh Steelers during this Super Bowl. The NFL lines during that season for Pittsburgh were very high to win the Super Bowl. Ben Roethlisberger was the quarterback for two of those Super Bowl wins. 

Super Bowl MVPs

For Super Bowl IX, Franco Harris was the Super Bowl MVP. For Super Bowl X, Lynn Swann was the Super Bowl MVP. Terry Bradshaw won those Super Bowl MVPs for Super Bowl XIII and XIV. For Super Bowl XL, Hines Ward won the Super Bowl MVP. For Super Bowl XLIII, Santonio Holmes won the Super Bowl MVP.

If Vegas NFL odds were out back in the day, it would have been interesting to see who would have been some of the betting favorites for some of those Super Bowl MVPs as well. 

Iconic Players

The Pittsburgh Steelers have had many iconic players throughout their NFL history. Many of them have been inducted into the Pittsburgh Steelers ring of honor and the NFL Hall of Fame. Some of the names throughout their history on both sides of the ball are Jerome Bettis, Terry Bradshaw, Troy Polamalu, and Jack Lambert.

There are many more names on this list for this franchise as well.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter
Connect With Us